Category Archives: On Writing

From writing tips, outline help, plot development, to overcoming writers block, you’ll find it here.

Motiv8 Fantasy Fiction Blog tour

Let’s try this again. The 2008 West Coast Fantasy Fiction blog tour is currently underway. For a live and up close look at what’s going on check out the Motiv8 blog.

1 Comment

Filed under On Writing

What not to do when you should be writing

I spent more time in the last week or two preparing for the upcoming Write-on Writers Conference in Coshocton, OH than I did writing. Balancing writing and all the other things that come with being a published author is probably the hardest part of this business. I knew going in most of the marketing and networking would be up to me. Writing a book is only the tip of the iceberg if you don’t have a famous name to put on the cover or if you want to reach more readers than just your mother.

Speaking still makes me nervous, but I’ve found it’s one of the perks of this job. I love sharing with people about the writing life, and more importantly, what I’ve learned on my journey. And isn’t it fun to talk about your passion?

Encouraging and motivating new writers is a great way to spend a weekend. Many readers of this blog are aspiring writers who I hope I have encouraged in some way on your personal journey. Before the next week begins and we all try to squeeze writing time between all the other tasks that need doing, I want to leave you with a list of what not to do when sitting down to write.

1. Don’t check your email.
2. Don’t log in to your writers’ groups to see what everyone else is doing.
3. Don’t update your computer files.
4. Don’t update your contacts list.
5. Don’t turn on the television and call it research.
6. Don’t answer the phone. (It’s a telemarketer anyway.)
7. Don’t walk the dog.
8. Don’t change the litterbox.
9. Don’t imagine what you’d look like as a redhead.
10. Don’t run to the store to pick up the latest shade of Spicy Chestnut.
11. Don’t start a grocery list.
12. Don’t wash the dishes.
13. Don’t straighten your desk.
14. Don’t take out the trash.
15. Don’t sort through your TBR list for inspiration.
16. Don’t wonder what you’ll wear to your next book signing.
17. Don’t wonder if anyone will come to your next book signing.
18. Don’t Google yourself or your book title.
19. Don’t stress over all the time you’ve already wasted.
And the last thing not to do when you should be writing—–Don’t think of 20 more things to add to this list.

Have a blessed and productive week.
Teresa Slack

1 Comment

Filed under On Writing

Sanctuary–Award of Excellence

SANCTUARY, the latest book by Molly Noble Bull, bestselling author of The Rogue’s Daughter and The Winter Pearl, was awarded the 2008 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence in the Inspirational category at an awards dinner on April 12th in Florida. The contest was sponsored by the Southern Magic chapter of Romance Writers of America in Burmingham, Alabama.

Along with the winners in the other categories, the cover of SANCTUARY will appear in a full page ad in the August issue of the RWR, the national magazine of Romance Writers of America.

SANCTUARY was published in September 2007 in trade paperback by Tsaba House. Sanctuary is a fast-paced Christian novel and the first in the Faith of Our Fathers series about the Huguenots. With danger and persecution lurking at every turn, the characters in Sanctuary leave France and finally settle in Scotland. In Book Two, the family leaves Scotland and travels to the state of South Carolina amidst more troubles and hardships every step of the way. Readers who liked The Winter Pearl, Molly’s Steeple Hill trade paperback, will also enjoy Sanctuary–and learn a little history besides.

Click here to read an excerpt from SANCTUARY

Congratulations, Molly. You deserve this award.

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing

Update: Molly Noble Bull

Sanctuary by Molly Noble Bull is one of six finalists in the Gayle Wilson Awards of Excellence contest for published authors in the Inspiration category. Winners will be announced in April 2008. Tsaba House published Sanctuary, a long historical, in trade paperback in September 2007, and it is about the Huguenots and forgiving the unforgivable.  

“Scenes, Sequels and Scenes Without Dialogue,” an article by Molly Noble Bull, has just been posted at Writers Rest www.writersrest.blogspot.com. This article and others in the series were designed for new fiction writers or for those who want a refresher course, and they will be posted to the Writers Rest blog site every Wednesday. 

For those who missed the earlier lessons, the earlier lessons in this series can be found at Writers Walk, Molly’s new blog. Here is the address.
http://bull.mollynoble.blogspot.com 

Teresa Slack interviewed Molly at her blog, and they discussed many of the topics mentioned in the lessons. Here is Teresa’s blog address.   
http://www.teresaslack.blogspot.com  

www.mollynoblebull.com

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing

Book Promotion Interview

Dash over to Michelle Gregory’s blog, Life in the Midst of Writing, to read my interview about marketing and book promotion. Before a writer is published, they believer finding a publisher is the hardest part of this business. Unfortunately it’s only the beginning. After the contract is signed, the real work begins. Hopefully you’ll find a tip or two that will help get you started.

All the best,
Teresa

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing

Teresa’s events for Fall

October marks my holiday season kick-off for craft fairs and speaking events. I have done this with much success every Fall since my first book, Streams of Mercy was published in 2004. I don’t know why more authors don’t take advantage of this venue. I always set up at craft fairs with my sister who quilts and makes aprons. The first time I did a craft fair, she told a friend of ours she didn’t think I would sell a book. She was afraid I’d have a rotten time. I wasn’t sure myself.

I was busy all day. Most people have never met a published author. Nor have most events hosted one. So my books and I am a novelty. Now I have readers come back year after year to buy the next book. I’ve said it so many times, I’m going to have it put on my headstone. “An autographed book makes a great gift.”

dsc01661.JPGConsider it, dear author. Try a small one-day local event. People will love meeting you. You will get to spend all day talking about your books. And someone may even ask to have their picture taken with you. See pic taken at the Buffalo Trace Balloon Race in Maysville, KY this summer.

Here’s my schedule.

Booksignings and Events:
October 8th–Seaman Public Library 6:00 p.m.
October 13-14–Lewis Mtn. Herb Fest: Manchester, OH Booksigning 1:00 but I will be there all weekend signing and selling books. This is a wonderful event. Lots of work, but totally worth it. So many readers from all over Ohio and Kentucky.
October 15th–Manchester Public Library 6:00 p.m.
October 25th–West Union Public Library 6:00 p.m.
October 27th–RWA chapter meeting Ashland, KY Boyd Co. library
October 29th–Peebles Public Library 6:00 p.m.
November 3rd–Rambler Center Craft Fair and Bazaar, Russellville, OH All Day
November 10th–Goshen Friends of the Library Annual Craft Fair. Milford, OH
November 17th–Jingle Bell Craft Fair and Parade. Waverly, OH This was my first show; has always a wonderful event for me. I feel like I know everyone in town. Thanks to the lovely people of Waverly, OH
November 24th–Amelia High School Athletic Boosters Annual Craft Fair. Amelia, OH Like most of the other craft fairs listed, this is my first year for trying this one. I look forward to it. Can’t wait to meet new readers.
December 8th–3rd Annual Maysville Festival of Books and Authors Night

Check with your local Chamber of Commerce and find a craft fair or Bazaar near you. If nothing else, you’ll have the opportunity to meet people who don’t visit their local library or bookstore and may never had heard of you. But believe me, they will be thrilled to learn a “famous” author lives in their midst.

Oh, and did I mention the possibility of press coverage?

Step out of your comfort zone and sell some books.

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing

Treasure Hunt/Sanctuary

Congratulations to fellow Tsaba House author, Molly Noble Bull whose new book SANCTUARY will be released on September 15th. In honor of the big day a SHOUTLIFE treasure hunt will commence on September 15, 2007 at Roseanna M. White’s blog site .

If you are not yet a member of SHOUTLIFE, I gotta ask what’s holding you up? It’s a wonderful, encouraging online community. Imagine MySpace without all the garbage. Go to http://www.shoutlife.com and set up a profile. It’s so easy, even I did it. Then join in the treasure hunt.

The first twelve winners will receive autographed copies of Sanctuary, a long historical novel about the Huguenots by Molly Noble Bull. Sanctuary will be published in trade paperback on September 15, 2007.

http://www.mollynoblebull.com

It’s easy to win. Here are the rules.

Visit all twelve blog sites listed below, beginning with Roseanna M. White’s site. At each site, you will find a question and an answer. Read both carefully. You will also see a star by the sentence in each answer where the main clue can be found. Copy or cut and paste the sentence with the main clue in it to your answer sheet. When you have collected all the answers found at the 12 blog sites, send your answers to the Christian Review of Books’ ShoutMail.

The Treasure Hunt begins on September 15, 2007 – the day Sanctuary will be published. From Rosanna White’s blog, you will be told where to go for the next clue. However all twelve blog sites will post all the blog addresses; so don’t worry about getting lost.

Happy reading!!!!!!!!!!

1. Roseanna M. White

2. Trish Perry

3. Betsy Ann St. Amant

4. Katy King

5. MaryLu Tyndall

6. Jill Elizabeth Nelson

7. Miralee Ferrell

8. Michelle Sutton

9. Elizabeth Goddard

10. Tricia Goyer

11. Teresa Slack

12. Molly Noble Bull

http://www.mollynoblebull.com

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing