For who hath despised the day of small things? Zechariah 4:10

            Before I was born again, I sometimes asked the Lord in prayer for help if there was a major crisis in my life, but I hesitated to ask Him for small things. I figured He was too busy creating and maintain the universe to help me with my day-to-day problems, and for a while after I was saved, these conclusions remained. 

            Gradually, I begin to ask the Lord for help in finding small things—my glasses, my car keys, my checkbook. Sometimes I would even ask Him to help me find a lost Bible and always asked in the name of Jesus. At other times, I would forget to ask for His help. Instead, I would try to do things on my own.

            I have probably spent numerous hours looking for lost items without success. But when I remember to ask the Lord in prayer for help in finding these lost items, I often find them in seconds. So, I would have to say that the Lord cares about the smallest things in our lives and is ready and able to help us when we ask for help in the name of the Lord, Jesus Christ.

However, I think there is a difference between small things, like car keys, and the day of small things mentioned in the fourth chapter of Zechariah. We are told to seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto us. But if we focus on the small things in our lives without first seeking and finding the Lord, all we end up with are small and foolish things that have no long-term value.

Yes, the Lord cares about the believer’s smallest needs, but there will come a day when the time for seeking and finding God will end. In that day, we will only have our small things to keep us happy and contented, and even they will disappear. As a Christian, I despise the day of small things if that means a world without the Lord because a world within Him is no world at all. 

Molly Noble Bull

www.mollynoblebull.com

5 Comments

Filed under Commentary

5 responses to “For who hath despised the day of small things? Zechariah 4:10

  1. Great post, Molly. I am reminded of the day several years ago when some family members went swimming in a creek. My niece swam out of her shoe. Everyone was searching for it in the water. Her aunt prayed aloud, “In the name of Jesus, help me find that shoe.” She went a few more steps and then raised one leg out of the water. Hooked on her toes was the child’s shoe. God hears even the simplest prayers.

    Teresa Slack

  2. Teresa,
    Your story about the shoe was great and confirms what I said in my article. God cares about the smallest things in our lives.
    And thanks for pasting a photo of my upcoming novel, Sanctuary, to your comment.
    Help! I don’t know how to do that.
    Blessings,
    Molly
    http://www.mollynoblebull.com
    http://www.shoutlife.com/mollynoblebull

  3. Molly, ouch! Oh, so true. If we only focus on the small things in our life, without the spiritual focus, how far will we advance? Not very. Loved your post. Best wishes . . .

  4. susanne

    Every once in a while my dog will run off as we are hiking and when she is gone for too long, I always hesitate to pray for her safe return. I feel stupid, knowing that if she does this over and over, I should get a clue and not allow this to happen. But I so love to let her run in the woods and chase things. Needless to say, each time I get to that desperate worry point and I pray apologetically, sure enough, here she comes, trotting right for me. Sometimes I think God is sitting there with the angels laughing at us silly humans! How much he loves us to put up with our tiny worries. But, as a parent, I know that those have been the nicest moments–when my kids came to me for help with little things. It shows God we trust him and are confident of his love to know he won’t think we are so stupid as to be unworthy of his attention. Just a thought…

  5. Thanks for writing.
    I love reading all your thoughts because they are so like my own.
    And don’t forget my upcoming long historical novel, Sanctuary. Sanctuary is the first of three long historical novels in the Faith of Our Fathers series about the Huguenots and will be published in trade paperback from Tsaba House on September 15, 2007.
    Blessings,
    Molly
    http://www.mollynoblebull.com

Leave a Reply

