Our part in the creative process

Years ago, I taught a lesson to my primary Sunday school class about being created in God’s image. Created in His likeness, we also have the power to create. I like what Christopher said that even non-believers are given this gift…they just don’t acknowledge the source. More’s the pity.

We all have different gifts and talents to use for His glory or our own; it’s our choice. But sometimes we feel like those gifts are going to waste or that no one appreciates them. Or maybe it’s just me. I keep writing and plugging away at promoting my books and myself and wonder if any of it will ever matter in the long run.

But that’s not my problem. Jesus said to go out into the highways and the byways and compel them to come in. He didn’t add that if no one pays attention to us or if it doesn’t seem to be working, then it’s all right to stop. No, we are to keep working. The fields are white and ready to harvest.

Just like our gifts. They were given to us for a reason. Whatever the Lord has blessed you with today, use it. Don’t be like the wicked servant who hid his talent in the ground until the Master returned. Use your talent, expend some energy today, and let God worry about if it’s working or not.

I didn’t intend for this to turn into a sermon. This blog is about writing. Let’s just get rid of those excuses and do what we’ve been called to do, whether writing, any other art form, or otherwise.mallory-me.JPG
Teresa Slack

2 Comments

Filed under On Writing

2 responses to “Our part in the creative process

  1. Thank you for your words of encouragement. Please forgive my misssspellllings, I use a computer at work and it has a cover on the keybord. the keys are sticky and I’ve littel time to respond.

    I must agree with you. One thind I never in my life would have thought I would do is write more than a paragraph and even that would be filled with miss spellings. However, I started putting thoughts on a word processer at home and the next thing I know is its grown larger than I thought possible.

    I was drawn in to the book market by a, um lets just say a publisher with questionable business tactics. they published my first book and it has errors in it that werent there at my last review. so I learned something.

    My works weave in Bible verses to tell the story and I can’t claim the writing. God wrote it not me. His hand is involved and he just used me as an outlet. I’m currently looking for a different publisher and hope Tsaba House will consider the works. I’m learning in my 49 years that, yes God can even use someone like me.

    Thanks for the oportunity to say thanks and hello

    Ryan T. Shaw

  2. Hi Teresa,

    Thank you for sharing!

    Does not sound like a sermon, more like a lesson will taught and a reminder to use the talents that the Lord has given us and leave the rest up to Him.

    That seems to be the theme that I have been hearing all morning.

    Thank you again for sharing!

    Writing for the King,

    Paul

Leave a Reply

