Art that inspires

tsabahouse-tenderreed.jpg

This past Saturday I was the guest speaker at The Word Talks book discussion group in Norman, OK to discuss my book A Tender Reed. Few writers will pass up an opportunity to explain the inspiration behind a book to readers who loved it. I am no exception. I love talking about the creative process, my journey to publication, and of course, my books.

They asked me typical questions like how I came up with the title–from the first line in The Rose: Some say love, it is a river that drowns the tender reed–why I dedicated it to my dog, and if any of my characters are based on real people. They also asked some atypical questions that put me on the spot like: How have you changed with the writing of this book?

Then these wonderful ladies did something a little different. They took turns telling me how A Tender Reed touched them on a personal level. Nothing is more gratifying for a writer. We spend our days, months, and years pounding away on our keyboards in virtual anonymity wondering if anyone will ever read our words. Asking ourselves the same question over and over again: Do I have anything relevant to say that hasn’t already been said by someone more qualified than me to say it?

I believe every person on this planet was put here for a reason. I also believe God gave me the gift of stringing words together in a loosely cohesive manner to tell a story. In the last few years I have come to see that every day we use our gifts and talents to glorify ourselves or glorify God. What a blessing to know my writing has ministered to a small group of women in Oklahoma. There is no greater accolade than to know that the message on this writer’s heart ministered to another.

Whatever your ministry, whatever gift the Lord has given you, whatever unique perspective on seeing Creation’s beauty, use it to edify others and uplift Jesus. There is no greater calling on any of our lives. slack6-small.JPG

Have a blessed week,
Teresa Slack

3 Comments

Filed under On Writing

3 responses to “Art that inspires

  1. chris

    “We spend our days, months, and years pounding away on our keyboards in virtual anonymity wondering if anyone will ever read our words. Asking ourselves the same question over and over again: Do I have anything relevant to say that hasn’t already been said by someone more qualified than me to say it?”

    I think this every time I sit to write.

    It’s incredible to me how similar people are while under the impression that the world lives to the contrary. Maybe it is simply a lack of communicating our inadequacies with each other and being transparent to a point where our relationships are truly intimate. Or could it be that “the liar” uses this thought process to isolate us and stunt the gift inside so that the words we were to pen never reach the souls they were meant for.

    Either way, thank you for your words of encouragement.

    – mooney

  2. Teresa,

    Thanks for the wonderful and deeply thought provoking words. So much so, that I posted on it.

    You rock, woman!

    CH

  3. Pingback: Why we do what we do « Christopher Hopper

Leave a Reply

