A Not so Productive Weekend

I knew I was in trouble when I spent $44 on yarn Friday at Hobby Lobby. I start every week with big plans on what I’m going to accomplish by week’s end. This one started unraveling on Thursday and went straight down the tubes on Friday.

It isn’t all my fault. It’s hard to concentrate on writing related activities when the view outside my front window resembles a Christmas card. We’ve been getting lots of snow here in southern Ohio…weather that makes me want to sit in front of a roaring fire and crochet. And that’s exactly what I did all weekend.

I’m in the process of researching and outlining a new novel–a short contemporary that will be included in a book with romance author Molly Noble Bull. I’m approaching this story differently, with plans to go into it fully outlined and in order. This is in hopes of avoiding problems and extensive rewrites down the road. I’ll let you know how it works out.

What about the rest of you? Do you meticulously map out your story before jumping in with both feet the way I normally do, or are you a seat of your pants writer? Let’s hear it. How do you get started on a new project? Do you have a course of action or is each work different? How do you even decide on which story idea is going to be your next great masterpiece? Personally, choosing is often the most enjoyable part of the process for me.

Don’t forget to tune in to The World of Publishing Monday nite 8:00p.m. EST. I’ll try to sound articulate and knowledgable, but I’m not making any guarantees.

Have a blessed and productive week.
Teresa Slack

Leave a comment

Filed under On Writing

Leave a Reply

